Visit the Englewood Heritage Station website: Exciting National Train Day event coming May 14, 2016.
In 1865, Junction Grove became part of the incorporated town of Lake. In 1868, Henry B. Lewis, a wool merchant on South Water Street, and a member of both the Cook County and Town of Lake boards of education, suggested the name of Englewood (after Englewood, New Jersey), since the area was heavily wooded. (Excerpt from Encyclopedia of Chicago)
Photo from https://www.flickr.com/photos/brulelaker/14167761979
Once known as Junction Grove, the rich history of Englewood began in the mid-1800s as the area quickly developed into a rail and commerce crossroads. Junction Grove changed its name to Englewood in 1868, and in 1889, it became part of the City of Chicago. With its cross streets at 63rd and Halsted, the four railroad stations, and the 63rd Street ‘L’ stop, Englewood has long been a transportation hub of the south west side. This easy access helped to make Englewood one of the largest outlying business districts in the country for much of the first half of the 20th century. But Englewood has changed over the years. Now a struggling urban area, it is nevertheless known for its grassroots organizations and strong sense of community, on the forefront of revival.Chicago’s Englewood Neighborhood: At the Junction explores the history of the people, places, commerce, and community that have created this ever-changing neighborhood.